Sunday Snapshot • February 28

Here’s the February 28 election snapshot,  a weekly look at how municipal candidates are distributed across our grand city.

(Sorry, I know it’s Monday.  I had a busy weekend).

Six new candidates registered last week.  Ward 27 is in the lead, with ten candidates hoping to replace outgoing Councillor Kyle Rae.  Ken Chan entered the race last week, endorsed by Kyle.  Kristyn Wong-Tam is expected to file today, bringing the total to eleven.

In other news, Mike Layton is launching a campaign on Friday, Keith Cole is running for Mayor, and rumours of Dennis Mills running for Mayor are untrue. Shelley Carr0ll is keeping us guessing.

As per the request of my readers (mainly HiMY), I’ve added a new colour, for wards with 10+ candidates.

Here’s a map of the ward numbers, to help you navigate.  (Click on the map to find out which ward you live in.):

Click here to see a list of all candidates, by Ward.

3 responses to “Sunday Snapshot • February 28

  1. There’s no one running in my ward yet. Although I do think Denzil will file his nomination papers later.

  2. Pingback: Labelling: harder than it looks « Numpty's Progress

  3. Mez,

    The juxtaposition of Ward 27 and your choice of Purple reinforces where the heart of the City might just truly be viz. the name of the ward & riding of Toronto-“Centre”.

    This past week, many times, many people instantly asked what ward that purple one was as I called up your Sunday Snapshot map on my blackberry.

    It’s my bb wallpaper of choice. It helps people easily see how wards tie into where they live & where they work.

    Give or take a candidate or few, my own Ward 19 Trinity-Spadina will likely go Purple in the very near future.

    Thanks for choosing The Colour Purple Mez.

    HiMY SYeD
    Candidate Toronto City Council

Leave a comment